

Tax Working Group Information Release

Release Document

September 2018

taxworkingroup.govt.nz/key-documents

This paper has been prepared by a member of the Tax Working Group for consideration by the whole Tax Working Group.

The advice represents the preliminary views of the member who prepared the paper and does not necessarily represent the views of the whole Group or the Government.

Key to sections of the Official Information Act 1982 under which information has been withheld.

Certain information in this document has been withheld under one or more of the following sections of the Official Information Act, as applicable:

- [1] 9(2)(g)(i) to maintain the effective conduct of public affairs through the free and frank expression of opinions;
- [2] 9(2)(a) to protect the privacy of natural persons, including deceased people.

Where information has been withheld, a numbered reference to the applicable section of the Official Information Act has been made, as listed above. For example, a [1] appearing where information has been withheld in a release document refers to section 9(2)(a).

In preparing this Information Release, the Treasury has considered the public interest considerations in section 9(1) of the Official Information Act.



Agenda

Date: Friday, 18 May 2018 Time: 9:00am – 3:30pm

Location: Treasury, No. 1 The Terrace, Wellington – Room: +Tsy L5.8 & L5.9

Attendees: Sir Michael Cullen (Chair), Bill Rosenberg, Geof Nightingale, Joanne Hodge,

Kirk Hope, Hinerangi Raumati Tu'ua, Michelle Redington, Nick Malarao, Robin Oliver,

Craig Elliffe

Independent Advisor: Andrea Black

Secretariat: Paul Kilford, Bevan Lye, Steve Mack, Emma Grigg, Shane Domican (Note taker)

Apologies: Marjan van den Belt, Mark Vink

Item		Discussion			Time	Presenter		
	0900 - 0930	Group discussion and morning tea (without officials)			30 min	All members only		
1.	0930 - 1000	Admini 1.1 1.2 1.3	(paper Forwar	s from previous meeting attached) d agenda (paper attached) on submissions (verbal)	30 min	Chair Paul Kilford		
2.	1000 - 1100	Business Submitters 2.1 Chartered Accountants ANZ ○ Paul Dunne ○ John Cuthbertson 2.2 Corporate Taxpayers' Group ○ Patrick McCalman – Deloitte, Tax Partner ○ John Payne - Chair of CTG, Head of Tax at NZ Superannuation Fund 2.3 Business NZ ○ Steve Summers						
3. 1100-1215 Accounting Firm Submitters 3.1 Deloitte O Robyn Walker – Deloitte, National Technical Director, 3.2 Ernst and Young O Matthew Hanley – New Zealand Tax Leader O David Snell – New Zealand Tax Policy Leader						Director, Tax		
		3.3	KPMG o	John F Cantin – Partner, Tax Adrian Hardy				
		3.4	PwC o	Sandy Lau – Director Ross Nelson				

Treasury:3957915v1



Te Awheawhe Tāke

4.	1215 - 1300	Lunch	45 min	All					
5.	1300 - 1345	Primary Sector Submitters							
		5.1 Federated Farmers							
		 Mike Chapman – Chief Executive Andrew Hoggard – National Board Spokesperson on Economics & Commerce Gavin Forrest – General Manager Policy & Advocacy Nick Clark – Manager General Policy Dr Paul le Miere – Manager Island Regional Policy 							
		5.2 Horticulture NZ							
		Mike Chapman – Board Secretary							
		5.3 Dairy NZ							
		о ТВС							
6.	1345 - 1515	NGO Submitters							
		6.1 ActionStation O Rick Zwaan							
		6.2 CTU Sam Huggard - Secretary Richard Wagstaff Geoff Bertram							
		PHA o Libby Grant o Louise Delany							
		6.4 PSA O Glenn Barclay – National Secretar O Sarah Martin	,						
7.	1515 - 1530	Wrap-up	15 min	All					
		7.1 Action points							

Meeting Close: 3:30pm Next Meeting 1 June 2018, Auckland

Treasury:3957915v1 2